Olives and red beet savoury pancakes

Ok! That was hard – making parathas sound mastercheffy!

My kids love red beet parathas. Today I thought of trying to add a tangy ingredient to the recipe as I did not have aamchur powder with me.

Olives is something both my kids love. I know bottled olives are no where close to organic and has a lot of preservatives, but I do keep stock of green and black olives at home for those cheat days.

Today, the ‘pinggg’ happened in my head when I thought – why not add olives in parathas and see how it tastes.

I added these to the 3 cups of wheat flour for the dough.

1/2 a tsp of fennel seeds,

A pinch of caraway seeds,

6-7 bird-eye green chilies finely chopped,

5 small red beets washes peeled and grated

5 small potatoes, boiled and peeled

Salt to taste

1/2 tsp of turmeric powder

1/4 tsp of red chilly powder

1/2 tbsp of sesame oil

2 tbsps full of chopped preserved olives (washed)

Washing the olives removes some brine from them, helps get rid of the ‘preserved’ taste.

Turmeric – This I always add to anything that I add chilly or chilly powder to because it negates the cancerous content of chillies.

I kneeded all this into soft dough. Water wasn’t required at all. Divided them into balls and rolled them out into soft parathas..

The taste of tangy olives with bite of  sweet fennel seeds was a refreshing taste that all of us relished. We had this with honey. You can even have it with achaar or jams.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

